Colored Title bar

Board of Directors

About the Board

Economic Development Lethbridge is an arm’s length organization, supported by the City of Lethbridge, governed by a 25-member volunteer Board of Directors and managed by a team of professionals dedicated to promoting economic prosperity in Lethbridge. EDL Board Members are drawn from a diverse cross-section of the community with the intention of best accomplishing the mandate and objectives of the organization.

As a governance Board, members are tasked with:

  • setting the strategic direction for the organization through four-year business plans aligned with the municipal funding cycle
  • providing direction, proactive leadership and sector-based expertise
  • establishing governance policies that support the mandate of the organization
  • hiring and evaluating the CEO
In 2017, Board members provided guidance and leadership to many important initiatives including the transition to the Lethbridge Destination Management Organization, Place-Brand Research as well as Team Lethbridge. Board members also contribute to the local entrepreneur community through mentorship and network opportunities connected to the Tecconnect centre for entrepreneurship and innovation. On occasion, Board members may attend conferences and participate in global volunteer missions related to their industry experience and expertise. Board members serve a two-year term with the option to extend their service for a second term as re-appointed by the Board.

Meet Our Board

Staff image

Jenn Schmidt-Rempel was raised in Claresholm, Alberta. She attended the University of Lethbridge where she completed a BA in English. She went on to complete course requirements for an MA in English at the University of Regina. Jenn is the Marketing and Social Media Manager at the Lethbridge Public Library, and the former publisher and editor of Lethbridge living magazine. Jenn has a strong sense of local and regional awareness, and is a passionate representative and advocate for our city and local area, helping local community organizations as well as non-profit groups engage and connect with local residents.

She has served on non-profit boards at the local, provincial, and national level, and volunteers and works with a number of non-profit groups throughout Lethbridge. Jenn has most recently joined the community Covenant Health Board, served as an ambassador for our city as a representative of Team Lethbridge, and is the past-president of Lethbridge’s Allied Arts Council.

Staff image

Along with 38 years of business experience, Chris Spearman devoted 18 years (1992-2010) to serving on the Holy Spirit School Board which included two terms as Board Chair. He is a founding member of the Industrial Association of Southern Alberta, established in 1983, and during that time, he has been a vocal opponent of electrical deregulation in Alberta.

Chris has also been a member of the Lethbridge Chamber of Commerce since 2008 and has served on several sub-committees in that time. In addition, he served five years (2008-2013) on the University of Lethbridge Faculty of Management Advisory Committee, and since 2010, he has served as a board member for the Aboriginal Housing Society.

Staff image


Bill Spenceley

Bill Spenceley is President/Owner of Flexahopper Plastics Ltd., an international manufacturer headquartered in Lethbridge. He holds a BSc in Chemistry/Chemical Engineering (University of Lethbridge/University of Alberta) and has served as president and Chairman of several international industry associations. Bill has been a committed spokesperson on energy efficiency and reducing environmental damage in manufacturing. He currently serves on the executive committee of Environment Lethbridge and is active in the local industry association (IASA). He travels extensively, has presented at world conferences, and contributes to trade publications on energy efficiency. He is proud of his community and is happy to network with various groups to help Lethbridge grow.


Christine King

Arts & Culture

Amanda Berg

Chamber of Commerce

Roy Pogorzelski

City of Lethbridge Councillor

Mark Campbell

City of Lethbridge Mayor

Chris Spearman

City of Lethbridge Manager

Bramwell Strain


Robert Kinniburgh


Richard Thiessen

County / Airport

Klaas Vander Veen


Kathleen Sheppard


Jason Sentes


Katie-Jo Rabbit


Adriana Mercader

Lethbridge College

Sandra Dufresne


Richard Odei-Wontumi


Jennifer Schmidt-Rempel



Kevin Brees


Don McInnes


Sandra Mintz


Todd Caughlin

Technical / Research

Chris Stasiuk


Michelle Day


Brad Beerling

University of Lethbridge

Dr. Erasmus Okine

Did you know head image

Did You Know?

The University of Lethbridge Campus spans more than 500 acres and is nestled on the banks of the Old Man River.