Colored Title bar

Board of Directors

About the Board

Economic Development Lethbridge is an arm’s length organization, supported by the City of Lethbridge, governed by a 25-member volunteer Board of Directors and managed by a team of professionals dedicated to promoting economic prosperity in Lethbridge. EDL Board Members are drawn from a diverse cross-section of the community with the intention of best accomplishing the mandate and objectives of the organization.

As a governance Board, members are tasked with:

  • setting the strategic direction for the organization through four-year business plans aligned with the municipal funding cycle
  • providing direction, proactive leadership and sector-based expertise
  • establishing governance policies that support the mandate of the organization
  • hiring and evaluating the CEO
In 2017, Board members provided guidance and leadership to many important initiatives including the transition to the Lethbridge Destination Management Organization, Place-Brand Research as well as Team Lethbridge. Board members also contribute to the local entrepreneur community through mentorship and network opportunities connected to the Tecconnect centre for entrepreneurship and innovation. On occasion, Board members may attend conferences and participate in global volunteer missions related to their industry experience and expertise. Board members serve a two-year term with the option to extend their service for a second term as re-appointed by the Board.

Meet Our Board

Staff image


Bill Spenceley

Bill Spenceley is President/Owner of Flexahopper Plastics Ltd., an international manufacturer headquartered in Lethbridge. He holds a BSc in Chemistry/Chemical Engineering (University of Lethbridge/University of Alberta) and has served as president and Chairman of several international industry associations. Bill has been a committed spokesperson on energy efficiency and reducing environmental damage in manufacturing. He currently serves on the executive committee of Environment Lethbridge and is active in the local industry association (IASA). He travels extensively, has presented at world conferences, and contributes to trade publications on energy efficiency. He is proud of his community and is happy to network with various groups to help Lethbridge grow.

Staff image

Along with 38 years of business experience, Chris Spearman devoted 18 years (1992-2010) to serving on the Holy Spirit School Board which included two terms as Board Chair. He is a founding member of the Industrial Association of Southern Alberta, established in 1983, and during that time, he has been a vocal opponent of electrical deregulation in Alberta.

Chris has also been a member of the Lethbridge Chamber of Commerce since 2008 and has served on several sub-committees in that time. In addition, he served five years (2008-2013) on the University of Lethbridge Faculty of Management Advisory Committee, and since 2010, he has served as a board member for the Aboriginal Housing Society.

Staff image

Dr. Paula Burns is the eight President and CEO of Lethbridge College and has experience working with, and in a variety of departments across post-secondary institutions, from teaching to curriculum development to leadership positions. Before coming to Lethbridge College in February 2013, Dr. Burns served as NAIT’s Provost and Vice President Academic. Dr. Burns’ leadership style is highly collaborative and she is a sought-after speaker on change leadership and meaningful partnerships.

Dr. Burns started on her educational path as a college student at Fanshawe College in London, ON, where she earned her Respiratory Therapy diploma in 1987. From there she went on to the University of Waterloo, where she earned her Bachelor of Science degree in 1996; Central Michigan University, where she earned a Master of Arts in Education in 1999; the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education/University of Toronto, where she earned her PhD in 2005; and Royal Roads University, where she earned her MBA with a specialization in leadership in 2010.


Rob Crow


Dr. Glenn Coulter

Arts & Culture

Danielle Tait

Chamber of Commerce

Keith Greeno

City of Lethbridge Councillor

Mark Campbell

City of Lethbridge Manager

Kathy Hopkins

City of Lethbridge Mayor

Chris Spearman


Lorna Peacock


Richard Thiessen

County / Airport

Klaas Vander Veen


Bill Spenceley


Jason Sentes


Terry Friesen

Lethbridge College

John Jacobson


Jane Anderson


Jennifer Schmidt-Rempel

Past Chair

Dr. Paula Burns


Mark Brown


Julia Mitchell


Pat Santa


Sandra Mintz


Todd Caughlin


Marie Milsom-Galeana


Dallas Sherwood

Technical / Research

Chris Stasiuk

University of Lethbridge

Dr. Erasmus Okine

Did you know head image

Did You Know?

The Heart of Our City Housing Incentive Program offers up to $30,000 per new housing unit built in the Downtown.