Colored Title bar

Economic Development Lethbridge Announces Board of Directors for 2022-2023 at Annual General Meeting

Mar 16, 2022

Lethbridge, AB…For the first time in three years Economic Development Lethbridge (EDL) held their Annual General
Meeting in person to welcome new members to their Board of Directors, recognize individuals whose terms are ending and announce a new Board Chair and President. Kevin Brees, General Manager, Primaris Management Inc., will move into the role of Board Chair and President, and continue to represent the Retail sector on EDL’s 31-member Board of Directors.

“The past couple years have been filled with ups and downs, stops and starts, and many uncertainties from not only the local business community, but also residents within our city and region. I’m excited to help collaborate with the other members of the EDL Board, staff and partner organizations to look back and see what we’ve learned from the pandemic and then apply those lessons to help build a new 4-year business plan for EDL that will target key priorities” says Brees. “The amount of knowledge, experience and connectivity on the Board presents the EDL Team with resources and networking opportunities that allow them to take on the work of making Lethbridge and our region one of the best places for new business investment and continued growth for existing businesses and entrepreneurs.”

Economic Development Lethbridge is an arm’s length organization, supported by the City of Lethbridge, governed by a 31-member volunteer Board of Directors, and managed by a team of professionals dedicated to promoting economic
prosperity in Lethbridge. EDL Board Members are drawn from a diverse cross-section of the community with the intention of best accomplishing the mandate and objectives of the organization.

In 2021, EDL Board members took part in the Building Business Downtown initiative, a Dragon’s Den style pitch
competition to engage landlords and entrepreneurs looking to grow into their own space. The EDL Board continued to play an instrumental part in on-going projects including work on Canada’s Premier Food Corridor and Canada’s Western
Gateway Trade & Logistics Corridor. As a governance Board, members also contributed to meetings and discussions with Lethbridge City Council and numerous ministries within the Government of Alberta and continue to be advocates for helping to spread messaging and marketing for the Lethbridge Brighter Together community brand.

“Having a diverse and dedicated Board of Directors supports the EDL team on numerous levels. Knowing that we have
specific sector expertise gives us business tools and current resources that allow us to leverage industry information,
insider insight and brainstorm on the best ways to see continued economic growth in Southern Alberta. In 2021, with the help of our Board, EDL returned $475 of direct economic impact for every dollar of funding received from the City of Lethbridge” commented Trevor Lewington, CEO, Economic Development Lethbridge. “We know the world has shifted
dramatically since 2020, and this group of 31 community members will help steer Economic Development Lethbridge
towards the right key economic, social, environmental and industry priorities for Lethbridge.”

A complete list of the 2022 Board of Directors can be found on page 2 of this release.

For more information, contact:

Mark Neskar
Director, Marketing & Communications
Economic Development Lethbridge

The 2022 Economic Development Lethbridge Board of Directors are:
*Denotes new Board member

Board Chair, Retail: Kevin Brees
Vice Chair: Mayor Blaine Hyggen
Past President: Chris Stasiuk

Agriculture/Agri-Food: Vacant
Airport: Vacant
Arts, Culture & Entertainment: Amanda Berg
Chamber of Commerce: Cyndi Bester
City of Lethbridge Councillor: Belinda Crowson
City of Lethbridge Manager: Lloyd Brierley
Community & Social Services: Lisa Lewis
Construction: Evan Barr
Education: Allison Purcell
Environment: Shannon Frank*
Financial & Professional Services: Terry Belisle
Health & Wellness: Dr. Steven Ha*
Hospitality & Tourism: Michelle Day
Indigenous: Roy Pogorzelski
Industrial & Manufacturing: Adriana Mercader
Lethbridge College: Jason Donkersgoed
Lethbridge County: Tory Campbell
Multicultural: Jan Gong
Non-profit: Janelle Marietta*
Real Estate & Development: Ken Harvie*
Regional Economic Development Agencies: Bev Thornton*
Sector-At-Large: Vacant
Seniors: Pat Santa
Sports/Recreation: Becky Little
Supply Chain & Logistics: Brent Peterson*
Technology: Ed Limon*
University of Lethbridge: Dr. Kerry Godfrey
Young Entrepreneur: Timothy Hachkowski
Young Professional: Ian Andrews

More News