Colored Title bar

2016 Economic Development Lethbridge Board of Directors Announced

Mar 17, 2016

Lethbridge, Alberta - The Board of Directors for Economic Development Lethbridge (EDL) is pleased to announce the 2016 Board as confirmed at the Annual General Meeting held on March 16.

The organization would like to announce that Lethbridge College President and CEO, Dr. Paula Burns, will serve as the new Board President and Chair for the 2016 term. “I am looking forward to leading the EDL Board with the same spirit of partnership and collaboration that is the foundation for this organization and the community,” says Burns. “Lethbridge College has established strong relationships with local industry and this role will help us stay even more connected to the business community.”

Economic Development Lethbridge Board Members are drawn from a diverse cross section of the community with the intention to best accomplish the mandate and objectives of the organization. EDL Board members provide direction and proactive leadership that encourages private and public sectors to undertake programs and projects that promote and foster economic growth in the region.

“We continue to see great support from our community leaders through partnerships and active commitment to serving on our Board of Directors,” says EDL CEO Trevor Lewington. “Strategic leadership that is representative of the diverse composition of industry and the community will continue to be crucial as we navigate the uncertainty of the current economic climate.”

The 2016 Board of Directors (in alphabetical order by sector) is:

Board Chair/Lethbridge College – Paula Burns
Vice-Chair – Mayor Chris Spearman
Aboriginal – Rob Crow
Agriculture – Glenn Coulter
Arts & Culture – Danielle Tait
Chamber of Commerce – Keith Greeno
City of Lethbridge Councillor – Liz Iwaskiw*
City of Lethbridge Manager - Garth Sherwin
Commercial – Lorna Peacock
Construction – Richard Thiessen*
County / Airport – Steve Campbell
Environment – Bill Spenceley
Finance – Jason Sentes*
Industrial – Terry Friesen
Multicultural – Newton Lupwayi
Not-for-Profit – TBD
Past-President – Kurt Schlachter
Regional – Mark Brown
Retail – TBD
Seniors – Bill Hanson
Service – Sarah Aimes
Sports & Recreation – Kim Gallucci
Technical / Research – Fergus Raphael
Tourism – Marie Milsom - Galeana
Transportation – Dallas Sherwood
University of Lethbridge – Eramus Okine*

* New Board Members

The Board is now seeking nominations for the not-for-profit and retail sectors. Interested candidates can submit their resume and a cover letter describing their interest in serving on the EDL Board by Friday, April 1, 2016 to Additional information is available at


For more information, contact:
Jaylene Ulmer,
Director, Marketing & Communications
Economic Development Lethbridge
(403) 331-0022 (office)

More News